Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

musicboxforever
Veteran
Veteran

12 Feb 2010, 12:02 pm

Ok, so I've found Gimp to use instead of Photoshop and I've found Inkscape to use instead of Illustrator. I'm now looking for a freeware web design product instead of Dreamweaver. I have found Drupal, but that seems to be more content management orientated. Does anyone know of a simple freeware program I can use like Front Page or Dreamweaver. My Dad said that I should just use Notepad, but I'm not that good at html. I'm ok, but not that good.

TOGGI3
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

12 Feb 2010, 12:51 pm

im with your dad on that one, hand coding is where its at. Even if you arent that great its pretty easy and worth learning.

kc8ufv
Veteran
Veteran

12 Feb 2010, 3:21 pm

Instead of notepad, I'd use vi, vim, or gvim. You get some more functions, such as pattern matching, and some versions will recognize when you are working with different types of code, and color code certain things, like functions, tags, and comments.

You also get much more power when editing lines. You still need to learn HTML, though...

pandabear
Veteran
Veteran

12 Feb 2010, 3:31 pm

There is also Notepad++

WorldsEdge
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

12 Feb 2010, 4:06 pm

Not sure what you're trying to do, but I was able to knock out a tolerable website using Google's free sites for something my wife wanted me to do for her work, basically a one shot site of a few pages plus some PDF attachments for some conference she was in charge of. Didn't look all that great, I admit, but the price was right (free) and given my knowledge of HTML/XHTML (pretty much nonexistent at the start and not much greater at the end) it took nowhere near as long as I thought it would.

And, yes, she works for a very large organization that has a staff that is supposed to do all that crap for her. As if. :roll: