Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

How are you with the concept of the square root of minus 1 and imaginary numbers?
I understand it 60%  60%  [ 27 ]
Bit confusing but I sort of get it 29%  29%  [ 13 ]
This makes no sense 11%  11%  [ 5 ]
Imaginary numbers; are you serious??? 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 45

Blindspot149
Veteran
Veteran

06 Mar 2010, 4:26 am

There is a branch of mathematics that requires the use of imaginary numbers namely;

The square root of -1, (otherwise known as 'i' or 'j', when I studied it)

Any number squared, including negative numbers, results in a positive number, so -1 has no real number square root.

Of course, as soon as 'i' is squared, it becomes -1 and moves back into real number mathematics.

How are you with the imaginary number concept?

Kajjie
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

06 Mar 2010, 6:20 am

I didn't understand this very well when I learnt it. I don't understand the point of imaginary numbers.

jc6chan
Veteran
Veteran

06 Mar 2010, 9:02 am

Its not hard for me. All you had to know is i=sqrt(-1) and build on the concepts from there.

Ambivalence
Veteran
Veteran

06 Mar 2010, 9:37 am

I understand it, but I do not believe it is founded in reality. It's a useful trick, that's all.

The year is still young.

MyFutureSelfnMe
Veteran
Veteran

06 Mar 2010, 10:14 am

Taken from somewhere else: