Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

lotuspuppy
Veteran
Veteran

10 Mar 2010, 11:24 am

Has anyone here ever managed employees? How many? Since Asperger's presents unique communication problems, what strategies did you use to delegate tasks? Was it rewarding, or did you hate every minute of it?

I am considering starting a business of my own one day. Most of the work I can only do myself, but I may need employees down the road to help me with administration. What do you guys think about employees?

memesplice
Veteran
Veteran

10 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm

Yes. Hated it. Never employ anyone again. Should take responsibility for their own actions and lives and not keep asking what to do all the time. Are generally not interested in tasks either. Not recommended from me, at least.

aspi-rant
Veteran
Veteran

10 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm

been there. done that. never again... i hope. ;-)

Laz
Veteran
Veteran

10 Mar 2010, 1:46 pm

AS a shift Manager I had 5-7 support workeres on my team. Thats fine I can deal with that because its hands on and ustilises my skills and trainning. I don't mind being at that level of management or supervising i'm simply doing what im best at and I have sufficient trainning and experiance and at the end of the day its what I trainned to be as a nurse to begin with.

As a team manager I had 14 spread over 4 differnt geological locations one of my which was my office so communication was long distance. This is my current job and it's actually lead me to suffer from burn out due to the level of multi-tasking which you would find difficult to believe. But the stresses of managing an office were more than managing the challenging behaviour of people with serious mental health/personality disorders 8O