Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

antique_toy
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

02 Apr 2010, 10:58 pm

i have a date this sunday with someone i've been talking to online. i find him very physically attractive and he seems like a nice, intelligent, caring kind of guy. i am very excited to finally be meeting him in person but at the same time i am so nervous about it.
he's a senior in high school and i'm not (i graduated a year ago) and the fact that i'm older than him makes me feel even more self-conscious about my social shortcomings. i'm sure he'll notice how awkward and shy i am and that i talk kind of slow, tap/fiddle with things on tables, and "don't get" things. i can tell that he's very "socially intelligent" and empathetic even for a neurotypical. i have kind of hinted that i have asperger's but i haven't told him yet because i don't want to scare him away or develop a superiority complex with me. some people jump when they hear the word "autism".
but anyway, what can help someone with asperger's on a first date to calm down? how well do relationships between *smart* NT's and aspies work out? should i even bother going?

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

02 Apr 2010, 11:03 pm

I don't think you should bring it up until you are on a good enough comfort level with him, which can take several dates, if not longer.

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

Sound
Veteran
Veteran

02 Apr 2010, 11:11 pm

Tim_Tex wrote:
I don't think you should bring it up until you are on a good enough comfort level with him, which can take several dates, if not longer.
+1.

Better to let him get to know you organically. Handing him a label, like AS, doesn't help him understand you any better, and can even help him get the wrong idea.

As for calming down.... I have no idea! :oops:

GoatOnFire
Veteran
Veteran

02 Apr 2010, 11:34 pm

antique_toy wrote: