Resources for Parents on the Spectrum (AS)

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Gigi830
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Apr 2010, 1:08 pm

My husband and I are new parents. We also both have AS. I am having a hard time adjusting (organizational and routine-wise, otherwise LOVE parenting :D So "in love" with our son <3 ). I am having a hard time finding resources for Asperger parents. Anyone know of any good sites or books on AS in general AND Asperger parents? I'm still new to AS (just was Dx a few weeks ago) so I'm new to researching it. Not sure where to look. Any suggestions? TIA :)

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

16 Apr 2010, 2:22 pm

I'm not sure there is one, but the need is there. There's a thread here somewhere that never quite got off the ground and if it did I think it would be AS parents commiserating with other AS parents and not a lot of practical expert advice. I've been recently worrying about how I'm supposed to teach my son some practical life skills (grownup stuff) that I never learned myself.

DW_a_mom
Veteran
Veteran

16 Apr 2010, 2:57 pm

I think if you post a specific issue you are struggling with, all the parents here will help you brainstorm. Some of our parents are AS; some are not, and all can probably at least share how they do it, so you have ideas to pick from and try out.

Zsazsa
Veteran
Veteran

16 Apr 2010, 6:33 pm

I don't know your specific needs but there are some very good books that have recently been published. These books are"

"An Asperger Marriage" by Gisela and Christopher Slater-Walker with a forward by Dr. Tony Attwood, Ph.D

"Alone Together...Making An Asperger Marriage Work" by Katrin Bentley with a forward by Dr. Tony Attwood, Ph.D

"Our Journey Through Asperger Syndrome...a roadmap" by Lise Pyles

"So Odd A Mixture...Along The Autistic Spectrum in Pride and Prejudice" by Phyllis Ferguson Bottomer and forwards by
Eileen Sutherland and Dr. Tony Attwood, Ph.D