Heavy metal not just music genre?

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Jillysue
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

29 Apr 2010, 4:23 pm

Ok, I'm a newbie. Son diagnosed in last 10 weeks with Aspergers. Am hearing from some people about Chelation therapy and how our kids have high levels of lead and mercury in their body and hair and yeast in their gut that needs to be eliminated and can be through diet. Says they can cure Autism? Gluten and casein free diet. Wow......more research

PenguinMom
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

29 Apr 2010, 4:41 pm

Be very careful of doctors who promote chelation, anti-candida (yeast), or other extreme holistics. I am(fairly) sure that some of these doctors are genuine, but there are alot of scam artists out there. There are also a lot of misguided zealots who do more harm than good. Try mainstream doctors/therapists first, and collect as much research as you possibly can from all sides of any debate on anything even slightly controversial.

There have been several recent threads about the gluten/free casein free diet. Read as much as you like. Feel free to read my blog, my family was initially taken for a very expensive ride. Learn from our mistakes.

Some of the stuff may work for some kids. Some of the stuff falls into the can't harm, could help catagory. Some of the stuff is downright painful and dangerous to put a child through.

Any doctor who tells you that you NEED to do any of the experimental stuff is a doctor you should not trust.

racedad68
Butterfly
Butterfly

01 May 2010, 11:45 pm