Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Squidward
Raven
Raven

09 May 2010, 4:16 am

I'm studying music at the Bachelor level, and I can't do any assignments that I'm given that involve analyzing, summarizing, or prose-writing. The theory papers I can do in a flash, but the other ones tend to completely block me. How do you approach a piece of music you have to analyze without emotion and without extreme technicality? They want us to be technical, but not too technical. There's no middle ground for me. There are only absolutes and extremes. In my opinion, the ultimate analysis of an artwork is the presentation of the artwork. I can't get past that.

I have had an assignment for a few weeks now, and it was due on the 3rd of May. I still have it and I haven't started it yet. I've sent emails to my teacher, gotten help from books and other students, but I'm still completely blocked (I'm meant to be analyzing Prokofiev: Piano Sonata #7, Op. 83 - III. Precipitato, if anyone was curious). On the other hand, I was given a theory assignment last week during a lecture, and completed it before the lecture was over. The theory assignment requested things like, "Using Roman numerals, label these secondary dominants," which makes absolute perfect sense and possesses no degree of difficulty. "This means that, that means this, so this must mean...?" This is the kind of stuff I came to this program to do.