Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

ManErg
Veteran
Veteran

05 Apr 2006, 3:25 pm

Hi all
I'm a 44 year old male in the south west UK. Not yet diagnosed as AS, currently considering getting diagnosed. I first heard of AS about 4 years ago. This shook me up as I was hit by the realisation that so much of the confusion of my life wasn't my life at all, but symptoms of this neurological condition.

I didn't really explore the implications then as, typically for many with AS, I have developed a small army of coping strategies, even though I hadn't seen them for what they were. After years of isolation, I had got married and had 2 wonderful children. And after never managing to hold a job for more than about 9 months in my 20s, I'd been employed for 8 years. BTW I'm a software developer - no surprises there!

The reality of the condition catches up and currently I'm having a real struggle keeping it all together. Looking back, it appears that the AS symptoms are like a wave, occasionally lessening to be almost tolerable (but never totally absent) then ramping up to the point when all social contact is just too painful. And this still happens despite trying to hide under the coping strategies.

My main current interests: software development, guitar playing (flamenco, latin, bollywood, rock etc etc), mysticism, computer games addict (mainly strategy, but some RPG), spanish language, the works of thomas pynchon and david lynch, music from prog rock to drum'n'bass and classical, but NOT jazz, stone circles - yes, I'm an ageing hippy!

I never know whether I've disclosed too much or too little. The paragraphs above are more than I've disclosed to anyone, except perhaps my wife, face-to-face, ever!

I'll finish by saying best wishes to all of you here....

alex
Developer
Developer

05 Apr 2006, 4:52 pm

Welcome! Can I ask how you met your wife?

ManErg
Veteran
Veteran

05 Apr 2006, 5:33 pm

alex wrote:
Welcome! Can I ask how you met your wife?