Autistics in the creative industry - Advice?

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

MindBlind
Veteran
Veteran

01 Jun 2010, 1:36 pm

I am a film and animation student and I'm very worried because the animation industry in my country is very small and although it is an artform that I am passionate about, I am worried that I may not be fully cut out for it. I refuse to give up, but I am worried for a number of reasons. For one thing, I am worried that I might have to go freelance, which isn't so bad except that I am rubbish with my organisational skills (which I hear are even more imprtant when freelancing). I know I will have to do other jobs on the side, which I am willing to do, but I am worried in case I will have to settle for a different job instead of my passion as a career (though I'm determined to make films anyway, even if I have to do it independently on my kicthen table).

My problem is that I feel that I do not possess any other useful skills and therefore if I have to be stuck with a different job, I might be stuck with a very poor job and a bad pay because I don't have other skills. I have rubbish numeracy skills and everything these days requires a flaming degree. I'm also awful at dealing with stress (to the point where I have panic attacks and tantrums) which makes me afraid that if I do try to work in the industry, I'd just end up failing right away. I always try to remedy my problems by making lists and keeping track of my time, but I'm so bloody disorganised that i lose the timetables or forget to update my lists! I don't know how I got as far as I am and I'm only finishing my first year of studies. I'm only beginning, but I am very aware of my flaws and the things I need to overcome and i want to know if there are any other autistics here who work in the creative industry and how you've coped (if you so happen to be filmmakers or animators, that's great!). Can you please share any of your stories or wisdom?

Thank you for having the patience to read this.