Interviews - when they ask "do you have any questions?&

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

musicboxforever
Veteran
Veteran

10 Jun 2010, 9:46 am

When they ask me at the end of an interview "do you have any questions?" I never do unless I've clicked with the person and we're having a good chat about the business. But sometimes the interviewer has covered everything I need to know and I genuinely don't have any questions. It's one of my weaknesses. I'm not good at asking questions in any situation.

I have an interview next week. What are good questions to ask at an interview?

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

10 Jun 2010, 11:05 am

I rarely have any questions after a job interview, either, unless it's 'How much does it pay?'

I don't really expect they'd give any honest answers anyway. If they want you to work for them, they're going to make it sound as pleasant as possible, even if its a Hell Hole. I figure If they decide to hire me, they'll show me anything I have to know then, so the technical details aren't yet relevant.

In fact, I kind of feel like it would be socially impudent to ask many questions in an interview, even if they prompt you for them. Like they're only asking to be polite and if you actually do have questions, they'll think you're assuming you have the job already, and judge you for your (perceived) arrogance.

visagrunt
Veteran
Veteran

10 Jun 2010, 11:51 am

I have a stock set of questions that I will draw from, depending upon the nature of the interview, how much publicly available information there is about the organization, and the nature of the work that I will be expected to do.

What are your organization's strategic priorities?
How would my work fit in with your strategic priorities?
What are the biggest challenges in the organization?
etc.

My intents is always to ask one high level question about the organization's strategic plans or goals.