Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Soledad
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

13 Jun 2010, 4:17 pm

Hello, I would like to major in Linguistics but my university doesn't have the major, so I am doing Spanish linguistics. My obsession is languages. I love beautiful languages, and it's the only thing that takes my off bs. I am going to be having a meeting with disability people tomorrow to see if they will pay for all my college, they said they will pay my whole tuition. They remind me that they are not a scholarship program they are a job finding program, and if they are convinced that my major will get me a job then they will "waste" or "spend" their money on it. I can convince them that I can become a teacher, translator, professor. But I haven't been in college yet so I don't know if I wanna be a professor. I sure as heck dont want to be a high school teacher because I already don't like talking to people who don't want to hear what I have to say. If I'm a college professor, people will like to hear what I wanna say and it is more like a haven away from being ignored and also doing what I like to do.

My mom thinks I should do computers so I can make some money and get outta college quick and she tells me to be realistic. But I have trouble doing things I don't like. I am good at computers, but I don't have the will to learn it. Temple Grandin is a Professor in animal science, and people may have thought what can she do with a degree like that. But she loved it so much that she god her phd in it. I like languages a lot too. I don't want to work corporate jobs, my social skills aren't good enuff for mind games and stuff like that. John Elder Robinson the author of look me in the eye quit his corporate job after he found out that he couldn't take it anymore and started working on cars. I think people should do what they like, because they are more likely to excel, especially autistic people.