has anybody here done creative writing?
do you like it? :D

thanks
cazzie :)

izmyaspieshowin
Butterfly
Butterfly

25 Jun 2010, 4:06 pm

Yeah, I love writing. I have written a few things, a short story, some poems for my wife, done a fair bit of blogging (creative at times) and other writing too. How about you? :)

dyingofpoetry
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jun 2010, 4:43 pm

My degree is in English (Creative Writing concentration) and I have had many poems published and one short story. I'm working on getting a collection out.

I don't spend much time writing, not as much as I should given my ambitions. If you want to be a good writer, you need to write every day, but I think in my case I get pulled away from it too easily by whatever interests me at the moment and if it's not writing, well, then it goes ot the bottom of the in box.

Overkill
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

25 Jun 2010, 6:35 pm

I was a creative writing major at college, but decided to switch to writing and rhetoric. One of the reasons I switched was because I became alienated with the way the teacher taught creative writing at my school. Rather than letting us write about what we want, she put somewhat strict guidelines on our assignments to the point where much of the fun was sucked out of it. That doesn't mean I didn't like any of my time in the creative writing program, but it kind of alienated me from wanting to do it in my own free time after that. Plus, I realized that fiction writing isn't something I'm particularly strong at, which is why I think a better fit for me would be non-fiction writing.

I'm aware that many other colleges have less strict guidelines about what to write about in their creative writing programs compared to mine, so I'd be interested to hear what some of you guy's experiences were.

I don't really write everyday even though I should. I get lazy, but I still enjoy writing. I just tend to get bogged down in other things when I have free time.

Sparrowrose
Veteran
Veteran