Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Repent
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

12 Jul 2010, 6:50 am

When I was in high school in the 1980's I took all the high school courses leading up to University entrance into computer science. I took Universtiy entrance math, physics, electronics, and computer science. When I graduated from high school in 1988, I was refused entry into the faculty of science at University on the basis of poor math marks.

I drifted through 5 years of part time University towards an Arts degree that led nowhere while trying to support myself from an early age. (I left home at age 17). Eventually poverty meant I had to find work at whatever I could find and I never completed the degree.

I eventually 'drifted' into the trucking industry. I've worked in various roles; customer service, customs clerk, billing, rating, warehouse worker, truck driver, dispatcher. I worked at 5 different trucking firms but nothing ever took. I've now been out of work for 20 months and despite my best efforts, this 'career' has hit a brick wall, I can't progress or advance in the field.

I still spend alot of time, as a hobby interest, on the computer and on the internet. I have the thought of going back to the place in life where I made the wrong turn, and pursue a career in computer technology instead of continuing in trucking.

Still, I'm 39 with 3 kids to bring up. Two of them are handicapped. (One is a 21 year old infirm adult). Starting over is not a preferred choice. I don't know what I would be able to accomplish in the 26 years or so of 'working' life I have left till I'm old?

I feel intense regret for making the wrong choices, while I know at the same time I could have made all the right choices and stepped off the curb one day and been hit by a bus. If I made different choices I wouldn't have my wife and kids, I could be six feet under by now. Their is too much pain to consider all the 'what if's'.