Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

rmgh
Veteran
Veteran

20 Jul 2010, 6:26 pm

Ok, so who here doesn't have qualifications? Do you work? What is your job? How did you find this job?

When I search for work, I feel like there's nothing I can do. I have some basic qualifications from my manditory years, but unless working in the military, this doesn't seem to matter much.

auntblabby
Veteran
Veteran

21 Jul 2010, 3:51 am

rmgh wrote:
Ok, so who here doesn't have qualifications?

i have qualifications but nobody is interested in 'em.

rmgh wrote:
Do you work?

for the last 5 years, no. i dread the thought.

rmgh wrote:
What is your job?

when i was working, i was an army slave for 4 years back in the 80s, then i was a civil service wage slave for another 18. during that period of government work i was an operating room technician [the guy who passes instruments to the surgeon] and was also a ward clerk as well as a billing coder. before all that, i had a number of mcjobs best left undiscussed.

rmgh wrote:
How did you find this job?

with the mcjobs i just showed up and they set me to work. these were jobs that nobody else wanted. with the army, i just signed on the dotted line and was uncle sam's slave for 4 long years. with the un-civil service i filled-out an application that was over 4 feet long! one long piece of paper with more blank spaces to put ink in, than i ever care to repeat. after 18 years of uncivil service, i got laid off courtesy of shrub. since then i have been caretaker for my mother and when she passed away, i then hermitted in my tin can out in the boonies for the last 2 years or so.

rmgh wrote:
When I search for work, I feel like there's nothing I can do. I have some basic qualifications from my manditory years, but unless working in the military, this doesn't seem to matter much.

ok, my question to you is why you left the military?

jdcnosse
Veteran
Veteran

21 Jul 2010, 10:22 am

rmgh wrote: