Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Sedaka
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jul 2010, 1:53 pm

I get really stressed out at work.

I'm a grad student in a lab and each summer, we get highschool/undergrad volunteers that help out with various projects in our lab. This summer alone, I have 5 (FIVE!! !!) kids that I am responsible for managing on a daily basis. (Imagine a bunch of baby birds screaming for food all day....)

Most of my few friends in the lab know about my AS but it's not something that easily comes across the the perpetual influx of new people (these kids) to our lab.

I get so stressed out during the summer. I've had enough experience TA biology labs ect that I'm generally used to interacting with people in a non-predictable way...

But these kids can be so annoying because they can't do anything independently. I am always having to listen to (figure out) whatever little thing is apparently in their way...

I think I have come across snappy or at least very austere in more than a few encounters. This has even happened when interacting with volunteers from a neighboring lab... (I SERIOUSLY don't know how, but of ALL the people that work in my lab, people always seem to gravitate towards ME when looking for some sort of executive help).

I just get so frustrated because I feel that my boundaries of courtesies are falling short. I don't know how to keep up with all these demands... Don't even mention how I feel about my success in getting my OWN stuff done.

I am a more mild case of AS but with these conditions, I feel my shortcomings are being exposed... to no avail cause it's not like most (NT) people are even aware of the indicators (or that there could even be anything underway at all). Even my friends have no help to offer, cause they (the ones in charge of their own kids) feel a similar stress. I just think they are better at handling it... They certainly seem to have a better rapport with the volunteer students.