Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

AdamTheFirst
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

05 Aug 2010, 10:44 am

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this whole thing.

I have read some of the discussions and it seems many people say about how they feel lonely. Some people say it is because they are happy to be lonely and some don't know why. I haven't read all of them, so probably this issue has already been discussed.

Personally, I think I can sort of explain one of the reasons why I think am lonely and I was interested to know if other people feel they have the same sort of "problem".

I once saw an episode of Seinfeld when one of the characters ( George Costanza ) said something like (about a woman) "sweet is nice but too sweet makes you throw up".

I am not specifically referring to a woman, but it seems that for me I get this same sort of feeling of queeziness when I get to know someone and they start getting too familiar with me or for want of a better word start to sort of trying to "bond" with me - even the word "bond" makes me feel sick. And that's not necessarily because I have a low opinion of them or think I am somehow better than them. And it's also not because I am a loveless, soulless uncaring person. It is just because I feel strangely uncomfortable when I feel that I somehow I have to get close to them at their pace and on their terms.

As a specific example, when I get to know a girl ( on rare occassions ), and I hit it off with them, and then they start trying to sweet talk or get "silly" or get intimate ( not in a physical way more like a platonic way ) - I get totally turned off. (Intimate is another word that gets me sick). And I realise that no woman is going to put up with that for very long; Its a real quick way for getting dumped. I feel it is impossible to explain to them what the problem is. And it's a similar problem with just making friends in general. It's as if my brain has a self-sensoring mechanism.