Page 1 of 4 [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

odysseus
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

12 Aug 2010, 7:55 am

I am very new to Wrong Planet, having only recently found out that I have Asperger's (I am 51).

Since I was a child, I have loved swimming underwater. Several years ago, I learned scuba-diving, but did not like all the kit that goes with it. I far prefer freediving / breath-hold swimming. This is not merely enjoyment - it seems to answer some psychological need deep within me.

Can anyone tell me:

(a) if they feel the same;

(b) whether this may be an expression of Asperger's?

Thanks!

Guitar_Girl
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 8:26 am

My mom used to tell me I was like a mermaid, being under water more than over it.
It feels good for me to be underwater. I think it's just what some people enjoy.

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 9:31 am

I'm afraid to swim underwater, because I don't want to mess up my hair. I used to love swimming underwater, when I was younger.

leejosepho
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 11:05 am

Although I have not been underwater for some time now, I do enjoy the seeming weightlessness and relative freedom-of-movement there along with a sense of comfort in that higher-pressure environment. I would suspect other types of people enjoy those things as well, but maybe some of us just notice and pursue them a bit more?

Mudboy
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 11:25 am

Yes, I am like a fish in the water. I can swim for hours and hours without getting tired. As a kid, I weeded ponds, and retrieved golf balls from them, at golf courses during summer break. I love to snorkel and want to learn to scuba. I think scuba would be like flying, but underwater.

Pistonhead
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 12:19 pm

I've hated being underwater since I dived too far and hurt my ear.

SteamPowerDev
Toucan
Toucan

12 Aug 2010, 1:04 pm