Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Robdemanc
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2010, 5:58 am

Does anyone think that Richard Dawkins has an aspie like special interest in attacking religion? It seems thats all he does with his life now.

In Britain they are putting on a new documentary by him. It was advertised on TV last night and made me laugh. It said:

"There is a growing number of religious schools in Britain. And Richard Dawkins is not happy." LOL

ruveyn
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2010, 6:29 am

Robdemanc wrote:
Does anyone think that Richard Dawkins has an aspie like special interest in attacking religion? It seems thats all he does with his life now.

In Britain they are putting on a new documentary by him. It was advertised on TV last night and made me laugh. It said:

"There is a growing number of religious schools in Britain. And Richard Dawkins is not happy." LOL

Dawkins is an evolutionary biologist by profession. Most of the attacks on the theory of evolution come from religious Christians, hence his hostility to Christianity in particular and religion in general. It is not clear that Dawkins is an Aspie at all.

ruveyn

Vince
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2010, 7:02 am

Richard Dawkins is "attacking" religion because not enough people dare to. What he does is comparable to someone being dedicated to fighting an epidemic. Religion hurts many people. Dawkins sees that, and wants to inform as many people as he can that it's okay, and even healthy, to not have faith. He might not always use the best of methods, but he does help some people get out of their abusive relationships with their imaginary tyrants, and for that I can only applaud him.

Awesomelyglorious
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2010, 7:15 am

I do not think he is autistic. He seems like any academic, just one with a few particular passions. A lot of academics are not autistic.

MONKEY
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2010, 7:29 am

Uh no? I don't see it as an "aspie obsession", more of a passion, or something.