Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

lotuspuppy
Veteran
Veteran

21 Sep 2010, 5:43 pm

A lot of us identify ourselves as being a bit different from other people. How are you different from other people? What do you feel makes these differences stand out? Do you think it's a good thing?

I guess I'll start, then. As a college student, I've always been different from my peers, and could never connect with most of them. I think my social skills are fine, and I'm able to meet them quite nicely. But when I do connect with my peers more, I find them rather dull. Older people get on with me very well, but not people my own age.

As time went on, I found I gravitated to different things than most other college students. For instance, many college students love to drink, party, and do other naughty stuff they couldn't do earlier. I tried all of that the first week or two, grew bored of it, and then started being myself more. My ideal weekend is to go to an art gallery, a nice dinner somewhere, then sit home and read a book. Most kids at my school want no part in this, especially considering that arts and humanities are pretty weak where I go.

So what it boils down to is that I have different interests than most of my peers. My interests align perfectly with someone 50 years old, but not 21. However, I think my social life will get richer as time goes on, especially as more people appreciate my talents. So what's your answer?

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

21 Sep 2010, 5:56 pm

I'm a Kinks Fan in a world of Beatles fans. I think that's a good thing. :)

Callista
Veteran
Veteran

21 Sep 2010, 6:11 pm

I care deeply about learning and not so much about reality TV.

Then again, most of the sensible NTs I've met don't care for reality TV, either.

Autism Memorial:
http://autism-memorial.livejournal.com

leftyswin
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

21 Sep 2010, 6:13 pm

I don't know... :(

BottleCap
Veteran
Veteran

21 Sep 2010, 6:18 pm

Everything. :?

lotuspuppy
Veteran
Veteran