Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

tangomike
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2010, 7:59 pm

Hello fellow WP'ers! If you have time please watch this introductory video I made on youtube for feedback (havnt gotten much) Growing up in Hawaii, I havnt had many, if any, chances of using german with other people so I would love some feed back. Tips on pronunciation, grammar and word usage would be greatly appreciated!

I'm a college student studying sociology, history and psychology but I love to learn languages on the side on my own. It feels like a new and refreshing way of expressing myself which is something i struggle with. I learned some German as a kid from my grandmother who was a holocaust survivor and fled to Japan...so i learned just a smattering before she passed away and learned of my german heritage. Since i was 18 (im 20 now) ive taken interest in my heritage as a way of solidifying my identity, another thing i stuggle with, and studied german and japanese on my own- here is the result

thanks for your time!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0FcLYYZkts[/youtube]

FluffyDog
Veteran
Veteran

26 Oct 2010, 4:04 pm

Hello tangomike!

I like your idea of learning German to get to know your family history better. (I think that is one aspect of what you are doing.)

You are doing quite well I think. I am a German native speaker and I had no difficulty understanding you in the video. *thumps up*

On little thing I noticed (that a lot of native English speakers do when they talk German) is your pronounciation of the letter "ch". (I know that technically those are two characters, but we Germans always treat them as a single letter, even to the extent that schoolbooks teach them separately from "c" and "h".)

Your "ch" sounds very hard, almost like a "k" (in "kill" or "count", for example). Germans will understand this, but they do not like this particular mistake. It upsets them more than somebody getting the umlauts wrong.