Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

klassobanieras
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

18 Jun 2006, 6:58 pm

Is anyone else here into videogame coding, either professionally or as a hobby?

I work in the industry (on a stream of pretty mediocre titles so far), and I do DS, PSP and PS2 homebrew in my spare time. I also enjoy reversing the file-formats of commercial games in order get access to a good supply of pro-quality assets.

Anyone else?

SidebarGeek4life
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

18 Jun 2006, 9:37 pm

Video Game developing is one of my favorite things to do! :D
Infact most of the time rather than making my own video game I like to hack others and change the text,images and code. The games I like to hack are Super Mario 64 (for nintendo 64 not DS), "Pokemon Ruby, Firered and Emerald", Super Mario brothers 3 for NES, and any other game that I can get my hands on the code for :D

jolger
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

19 Jun 2006, 4:33 pm

I would really like to develope games... But unfortunately i only know very little of programming :( although im still learning Delphi... ^^ And now that we're at it... Could anyone of you two guys maybe "share" some experience??? I would REALLY appreciate that :D:D:D

My "Experience":

A bit Basic...
A bit HTML
A bit PHP
A little more delphi than the other three ^^...

/jolger

2% scored higher (more nerdy), and
98% scored lower (less nerdy).

What does this mean? Your nerdiness is:

All hail the monstrous nerd. You are by far the SUPREME NERD GOD!! !

klassobanieras
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

19 Jun 2006, 5:52 pm

Hello, fellow game-geeks!

SidebarGeek: That sounds like fun...what sort of hacks do you do on ROMs?

jolger: You're already off to a really good start by learning Delphi.
The way I and lots of other people learnt to write games is this: Set yourself a goal of writing a really simple space-invaders clone.