Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

IceCreamGirl
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jan 2011, 9:00 pm

Will I be able to live a normal life as an adult? My Autism Quotient is 38, and I have trouble talking on the phone. I need an assistant to stand by my side at school because this is my first year at a public school and I have so much trouble with organization. My worst fear is that when I'm 30, I'll still be living with my parents and I won't have a full-time job.

Jonsi
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jan 2011, 9:10 pm

I was like that at fifteen. I needed an assistant, or I would be incapable of working. Now I'm eighteen, and I've had three relationships. Something that when I was fifteen, I never thought I'd be capable of.

You'll make it okay. You just need to persevere and take every challenge head on.

Marsian
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

03 Jan 2011, 9:13 pm

If you have a diagnosis of AS I don't think you'll ever grow up to be 'normal' in the sense of being typical or average. But equally, you gain in confidence a little as you get older and y you can do things if you plan for them and push yourself. I'm 33 and I do live at home with my parents. I have lived independently but it is really tough, working, and earning enough money to pay for it.

If I was 15 again, the key thing I would say is to find out what your strengths are, say if you are good with computers or good at writing or whatever you might be good at. And find out NOW how you can develop the strengths that you have to enable you to support yourself in future.

It is possible to work and live independently despite AS but you probably will need to find quite a niche job that doesnt involve too much interpersonal interaction. Such jobs do exist and my psychiatrist says I will find my niche one day...

And so long as you find a job... You can live independently with the right support :)

Try not to panic just yet! :D

jamieboy
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jan 2011, 9:16 pm