book 17%  17%  [ 1 ]
videos 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
other [post in forums other answer] 83%  83%  [ 5 ]
Total votes : 6

Dgosling
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

10 Feb 2011, 11:36 am

I was wondering if anyone knew what would be the best way for an aspie and someone with ADD would learn java:?: I'm in jr high and there is no java classes so what would be the best way to learn java :?:

wavefreak58
Veteran
Veteran

10 Feb 2011, 11:40 am

Just do it.

A book and online references can help. I can't imagine how a video would. But you best learn to code a programming language by doing it over and over and making a huge number of mistakes early on.

Or at least that's been my experience.

Reading and analyzing other people's code is very useful too.

I am NOT a good coder. Maybe someone that is will have a different strategy.

Dgosling
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

10 Feb 2011, 11:43 am

well i like videos because i see someone doing it and that helps me alot but i want to see what other people think before i go on youtube some more and search for a while finding a perfect tutorial
i only know the print line command so i'm doing good.

wavefreak58
Veteran
Veteran

10 Feb 2011, 11:47 am

Dgosling wrote:
well i like videos because i see someone doing it and that helps me alot but i want to see what other people think before i go on youtube some more and search for a while finding a perfect tutorial
i only know the print line command so i'm doing good.

Maybe that would work for you. I just can't visualize anyway that a video would be useful to learn coding. Maybe because I'm thinking writing actual classes, functions, etc, not just tweaking interface elements written by someone else. Coding is text and text is not exiting video. Maybe it's my learning style.

Dgosling
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

10 Feb 2011, 11:50 am