Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

renata
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Feb 2011, 9:33 am

I'm neurotypical--fairly bad adhd sufferer (female) and really shy around men. I understand that I shouldn't jump to conclusions, but think the man I'm interested in, basically just a colleague, may have Asperger's syndrom. If he doesn't, he does at least have the trouble with the opposite sex that I am reading about on these forums. He takes the literal meaning of what I say, so I am trying to be better about understanding and treating him well. He is crazy shy with women his age (we're both mid 30's), to the point of putting his head down and blushing and having difficulty responding.

Before I get any further in this: he and I have a LOT of the same problems with the opposite sex. I am not terribly understanding of others' emotions and cues, which some attribute to my ADHD. I just teach for a living and spent a long time working on it. It took me to about age thirty to be able to figure out if a guy was hitting on me. I have a really hard time flirting. Usually when I get hit on I don't respond normally. I act a bit like he does: I start shaking and blushing and have to run and hide in another room to the point where it isn't normal. He's never been kissed ... we're both virgins. I get where he's coming from on some deep level and this makes me care about him a whole lot. I might be too invested. I'm willing to admit that. It's just that he's so good that I might feel spoiled for another kind of person. Does that make any sense?

I just ... let me be really clear. I love the way he is. To me these things about him make him attractive and deeply precious. I don't even know if he realizes how much I enjoy being around him, as scary and awkward as it is for both of us. But I'm an extrovert and I know I can be kind of loud and passionate, and I know that I can freak him out on occasion without meaning to.