Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

klassobanieras
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

12 Jul 2006, 4:09 pm

Any other JS fans here? It's about the only music I've never grown out of or got bored of; in particular, I can't get enough of the Goldberg Variations, Art of Fugue, the cello suites and various cantatas. Can't seem to get into the orchestral stuff though.

Anyone else? Favourite pieces/recordings?

Sundy
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

12 Jul 2006, 4:38 pm

I've played much Bach on my cello. Several years ago, but it always rocks. Something about the style makes it so geometric or something.

Musical_Lottie
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2006, 6:50 pm

Love Bach to bits. I'm currently going through a stage of loving romantic, powerful symphonies and I have to be in the mood for classical - but I can always listen to Bach.

MrMark
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2006, 6:58 pm

I’m a classically trained pianist, Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Joplin, Gershwin, Debussey, et.al. I used to joke to a roommate, “Anybody can play a stereo.” Before there was recorded music, music was rare and special. Now it’s ubiquitous. The Library is the last public place left where you don’t have to listen to music. That’s why I work there. I used to hang out with a guy who would say, “Oh, Mark, you have to hear this!” and he’d put something on the stereo real loud and sit down and attempt to yell a conversation to me. I’d turn it down and say, “Charlie, let’s talk or let’s listen to music, but let’s not try to do both.” I almost never listen to music. When I do, it’s something like Beethoven’s 9th, and I turn it up real loud, and I do NOTHING else. I guess most NTs don’t have the attention span.
:jester: :heart: :jester:

Musical_Lottie
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2006, 7:14 pm

MrMark wrote: