On Linux, Software Patents, Shakespeare & the Web

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

Fuzzy
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2011, 5:20 am

A great blog post if you are interested in intellectual property.

Quote:
Nothing so describes the current attitude of corporations like SONY, Apple or Microsoft. They have no interest in “ideals of open access or illusions of speeding progress”, unless it serves their bottom line. (The censors during the time of Shakespeare, likewise, had little interest in permitting plays that didn’t serve their bottom line: power.) When open access competitively threatens the bottom line of modern corporations, they have shown a willingness to use and abuse current copyright and patent law to criminalize whoever is cramping their wallet.

http://poemshape.wordpress.com/2011/02/ ... akespeare/

theWanderer
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2011, 11:52 am

I'd agree with everything you say, but as a writer, I'd add that there is one other feature no one seems to consider. Writers (and other creatives) really do need to consider their bottom line - at least enough to have a place to work and enough to eat. If we don't, at best we can create in our spare time; this gives us less time to practice, so we aren't as good, and the result isn't as good.

And we're squeezed at both ends. Sure, the impact of open access isn't much; the paltry royalties we get are so small that even a thousand people downloading something we wrote for free won't hurt us much. But, I know of a solid midlist writer who'd been writing for three decades - and in 2008, the last year she lived solely on writing, her total annual income was less than $10,000! We aren't trying to be greedy, we're just trying to survive. With that little coming in, every nickel lost hurts.