Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Teebst
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

20 May 2011, 9:48 am

I am new to the IEP process and so far I think I may be a little behind. We got our daughter assessed and they qualified her for speech therapy, OT and special ed preschool (if we want it). We have decided to just do the therapies as socially she's just not ready for preschool.

I'm a little worried about our school district. They seem really nice, but I think that may just be an act so I don't notice the details. They scheduled a meeting to go over our assessments, at no time mentioning it was the official IEP meeting. When we got to the meeting there was a room full of administrators and teachers, so I was immediately caught off guard and overwhelmed. They showed us the draft of the IEP document and had us sign something that said we'd seen it, but we didn't get to bring a copy home. The issue of stims were brought up, as I feel they should not be interfered with, but they said they would redirect her if she was hurting another student. Um...her flapping bothers no one.

Now they are calling me and saying I need to have a decision next week. They said I have 30 days from the meeting to decide, but they are only giving me 17 days since its the end of the school year. I am getting ready to call them and let them know we decided to go with only the therapies, but I would like a draft copy before anything is finalized.

My questions are:

1. Am I entitled to a draft copy of the IEP before its finalized?
2. Can they shorten my time period of 30 days if its the end of the school year?
3. Can I request a copy of the actual assessment, not just the IEP report?
4. Can I request that they not interfere with flapping and other stims?
5. Am I getting jerked around, or am I just being oversensitive?

Thank you in advance for any help offered.

cutiecrystalmom
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

20 May 2011, 10:04 am