Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

raul693
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

29 May 2011, 5:13 pm

Hi, I am currently a recently graduated lawyer (slightly above average grades with little to no effort), however, I hate my current job and don't really see myself practicing law the rest of my lately. To be honest when I chose law as a major I was very immature (only 16) and always failed math and physics in high school but I am 100% sure it was because of a total lack of interest in high school. When I took my college admissions test, I took a quick course in math and physics and that was enough for me to get very good results, I could have studied anything I wanted yet I chose law. Now I'm 22 and don't remember any math or physics, however I believe I'm passionate enough to go for engineering with a math and physics course that gets me back to that high school level that is the minimum requirement for going to college for for the first time.

That brings me to main topic, knowing this background info which branch of engineering should I major in? Electrical, mechanical or civil (don't have the slightest interest in chemical)? In an effort to improve your answers I can tell you the following:

- I can't draw or sketch even if my life depended on it (I understand it's necessary for mech).
- I am far more computer/electronic knowledgeable than 99.99% lawyers and most regular people.
- I have a relatively high IQ 140.
- I can't make an educated choice but my current order would be 1) Electrical; 2)Civil ; and 3) Mech.
- Given that I'm 22 I can't afford to lose time so failure is not a option, that's why I'm sort of scared of electrical since I've heard is the hardest one.

Last edited by raul693 on 31 May 2011, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

galtor
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

29 May 2011, 5:33 pm

"I have a relatively high IQ 140." IQ can be a meaningless indicator.

I studied Electrical. It is either Electrical or Computer and maybe Aerospace.