Seeking help with my ASD-themed Sci-Fi short film

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

fbc21ca
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

01 Jun 2011, 11:32 am

Hi:

I am interested in your ideas and opinions on a creative project I'm working on.

A bit of background: I am an NT who is deeply involved with the ASD world. My wife teaches drama to kids with autism as a means of facilitating social skills. My step-daughter is a young adult with Asperger's. I work for a company that's active in the field of serious autism research (not Autism Speaks), but I'm not a scientist myself.

I am an artist, musician and writer, working on my first original short film.

I've decided to make a science fiction film with no special effects, similar in approach to a classic sci-fi film from 1965 called ALPHAVILLE, by Jean-Luc Godard, which I think many of you might enjoy. Godard filmed Paris in black and white as his setting and it looks as futuristic today as it did 45 years ago. I think New York City in black and white, just after a soaking rain, looks like it could be 50 years ago or 100 years in the future.

I don't like sci-fi that goes off on wild paranormal trips, like some hairbrained version of Dune. I decided to take some current trends from real life and extrapolate as best I could, to come up with a realistic hypothesis of the future, place my characters in it and tell their story.

So, in this world of the future (I'm not specifying a year but let's assume it's 100 years or more from now):

1) The ratio of NT vs. ASD worldwide population has been reversed. One out of a hundred people are NT, the rest is ASD, so the NT people are the "special needs" folks. I'm not interested in explaining WHY this is. For the purposes of this story, it's just the way it is.

2) Technology has advanced to the point where everyone is basically artificially telepathic to some degree. Computers have disappeared into the fabric of everything. Something resembling a global Hive Mind is how the Internet has manifested itself.