Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

MDD123
Veteran
Veteran

08 Jun 2011, 4:47 am

So while I'm studying the math involved in Electrical Engineering, I realized that I should have a failsafe in case I can't handle the subject matter and I was wondering how worth-while the biological sciences were. Would getting a degree in say "Microbiology" lead to a career or would it just be another piece of paper? What about Chemistry? Does anyone here have any experience in these fields?

CindyDale
Butterfly
Butterfly

08 Jun 2011, 6:43 am

Go to Indeed dot com and do a search for these terms:

BS chemistry
bachelor's chemistry
BS microbiology
bachelor's microbiology

That will give you an idea of the current job openings in those fields.

You can also add a geographic area to your search if you want to stay in a certain area and add the words "entry level" to try to sort out which might take new grads.

That should give you some idea of what's out there. These fields look pretty good to me, but I'm sure it depends on your geographic location if you want to live in a certain area.

You also want to be sure you have the fine motor skills, vision skills, etc. to work in a lab. You should be able to decide that if you take a course.

Please keep us updated. I am a career services professional and very interested in hearing people's career exploration stories.

Stinkypuppy
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jun 2011, 6:36 pm