College Wore Me Down, and Made Me Cynical

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

lotuspuppy
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jun 2011, 5:30 pm

I graduated from college a month ago, and the realization is starting to sink in. I did find a job, and regard myself as highly marketable. I guess I can go on to achieve a nice little career for myself if I keep on my current trajectory. In other words, college was worth it for me in economic terms.

But is it much of an achievement? Did it in any way help me become a better person? I say "no," because college helped me very little with achieving what I really wanted: lasting friendships.

College didn't help me in other ways, either. For instance, I don't feel much smarter after four years. In many ways, high school was more work for me. But not having any real relationships makes me feel depressed and worthless, no matter what I achieve in economic terms later on.

People shunned me in college. I am not exactly sure why, as I deliberately worked to improve my social skills. For instance, I went to a school in Washington DC, in part because it's such a difficult city to live in. I also interned at a newspaper in London, and had to stop people on the streets and interview them. Most people with better social instincts that I have say that I do fine interacting. I come off as eccentric, they say, but in an intriguing way.

And yet my peers get bored with me rather quickly. I may have lunch with some of my floor mates one day, and then they completely loose interest in me the next. "It will get better," I told myself, and worked at ways to make me both interact better and make myself more interesting. Of course, it never did get better.