How do you pronounce the word Aspergers?

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

How do you pronounce the word Aspergers?
ASpergers 64%  64%  [ 27 ]
ASperjers 19%  19%  [ 8 ]
asPERjers 17%  17%  [ 7 ]
Total votes : 42

kerryt84
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

11 Jul 2011, 2:42 pm

I'm just wondering how people pronounce the word Aspergers. I used to pronounce it ASperjers, but then when I was diagnosed the psychologist called it ASpergers so I started calling it that. At work (I'm a teacher) I've noticed people calling it ASperjers and asPERjers. Is there a right and wrong way? Note: I have capitalised the stress in the words.

Thanks

littlelily613
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jul 2011, 2:46 pm

I used to pronounce it asPERgers, but now pronouce it ASpergers.

EQ=8 SQ=93 (Extreme Systemizer)
Alexithymia Quiz=164/185 (high)

ForestRose
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

11 Jul 2011, 2:52 pm

I don't think there's a right and wrong way. The name of the person who did all the research on AS and whom Asperger's Syndrome was named after would have been pronounced as as asPERjers, I think. But lots more people actually say ASpergers, more people tend to pronounce it like this as it's generally easier to pronounce.

Jory
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jul 2011, 2:53 pm

AS-per-ger is correct, which is unfortunate since it always ends up sounding like "ass burger." Some people pronounce is AS-per-jer, which is only slightly less silly. I just say AS instead.

ForestRose
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

11 Jul 2011, 2:57 pm

Jory wrote:
AS-per-ger is correct, which is unfortunate since it always ends up sounding like "ass burger." Some people pronounce is AS-per-jer, which is only slightly less silly. I just say AS instead.

Okay, maybe I'm wrong then. This topic confuses me :P All I remember was that the name of the person was originally pronounced with a "j" sound instead of a "g" sound as in "get". I don't know, probably best not to listen to me :P