Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

techn0teen
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2011, 9:17 pm

I extensively studied space-time and physics since I was twelve years old. This summer, taking advantage of the free time youths have, I made a mathematical and logical argument about what actually happens after faster than light travel. It didn't start out that way. I just made a connection and then it turned into another.

My major is in computer science. While I have enough of a mathematical background, I only took three classes of university physics.

I am afraid of showing anyone at my university because they might take the paper for their own. I want to get credit for my work. I am also afraid I will be disqualified from submitting even though the logic and mathematics are correct.

Any advice on submitting a journal as an undergraduate and getting proper credit for my work?

Last edited by techn0teen on 17 Aug 2011, 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Orwell
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2011, 9:32 pm

Look up the submission procedures for a journal in the field of your research, and send it off. It could help to have a faculty mentor help you along the way though, especially in refining your ideas and making sure you haven't made some embarrassing error that will get you laughed out of peer review, etc. You would be expected to share authorship with them if they helped you, but you are still credited, and as an undergrad having your name on a paper at all is a good thing.

As to the research you described... based on the physics background you claim, I would probably assume there is some error in the logic and mathematics, or in the assumptions you are making about physics.

techn0teen
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2011, 10:08 pm

Orwell wrote: