Help! Having problem with reg. classroom teacher.

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

RazorbackMom
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

02 Feb 2005, 2:59 pm

Hi, I'm new to this. I have an 8 year old son, who shows most symptoms of Aspergers, but Arkansas Children's Hospital/Dennis Developmental Center "can't" fully diagnose his as such. BS if you ask me!
As a small child he was always a little different and the older he got the more "quirks" he developed. In pre-school he had some problems learning in a classroom environment, but no problem at all learning with me (1 on 1). My son is a very intelligent person. His kindergarten teacher saw signs of CAPD. We decided to let him be in an "Intergrated Classroom" where he gets regular classroom and resource work. It has really worked great. Last year, it was suggested by his 1st grade teacher that we should really think about having him tested for AS, because she and his resorce teacher could see many symptoms develope thru out the year (as did I).
ACH & Dennis tested him this past summer and could go as far as diagnosing him ADD with anxioty disorder. They all agreed that more than likely he was AS, but since he didn't have all of the symptoms wouldn't say AS for sure. He has been taking Stretera since July '04 and it has helped. We still have all of his 'Quirks", but he is able to learn a lot easier.
My problem is that the resorce teacher and I both think that he is doing so well that placing him in a "full" regular classroom on a trial basis would be really good for him. He is making all A's and is very bored with the work that resource provides for him. We are trying this for a period of 4 weeks and if it doesn't work then there is no harm done. However, his regular classroom teacher was almost nasty with her opinions. She does not want to even try. We did force her hand since it is ultimately my decision.