Page 1 of 2 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

kevsmom
Butterfly
Butterfly

28 Sep 2011, 10:28 am

How do you address homework with your child's teacher? I have told my son's teacher (he's 13 HFA in the 7th grade) that I don't want them sending home work that he has no idea what to do with, but she continues to do so. And if it doesn't get done, he gets upset and they give him grief at school. I am sick of doing homework. I graduated a long time ago. Not to mention two jobs and two other kids to deal with. I find myself spending hours brushing up on algebra. My other two children come home and do their homework without much assistance. Occasionally, they will ask for help with something, but more often not. I have to ride shot gun over Kevin just to keep him at the table. Then find myself looking up the answers and telling him what to write. What is the point in that?

Does anyone have any advice? Is there something I can get in his IEP?

postcards57
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

28 Sep 2011, 10:58 am

[/quote]How do you address homework with your child's teacher? [quote]/quote]Does anyone have any advice? Is there something I can get in his IEP?[quote]

Our methods & resources teacher actually suggested having no homework. We're working it out with the teachers, because I think I can help my dd improve in certain areas by doing selected assignments and projects. She will be on a modified program, so I think we'll probably ditch the math homework... last year we were spending 2 hours a night and getting nowhere. I don't want her to miss recess at school to get help, either, and her abilities seem to indicate that expectations in some areas will have to be kept pretty low.
This article by Tony Attwood was mentioned by the new M&R teacher:
http://www.child-autism-parent-cafe.com/homework.htm
Although a total homework exemption is suggested only as a final resort, it is justified in some cases.
J.

momsparky
Veteran
Veteran

28 Sep 2011, 11:59 am