Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

happydorkgirl
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

08 Oct 2011, 12:08 am

Does anyone else here have a special bond with animals?

I started rigorously training dogs at around age 8 or 9; I've just always been able to think like a dog. In undergrad I studied the area further and am now a trainer and canine behaviorist.

My bearded collie, Storm, is by far my best friend. I am most comfortable around him and tell him things that I won't tell another person. We go to dog shows to compete in various obedience events and having him around makes talking easier.

...and, since threads about animals are no good without visual aids, enjoy these pictures of me and my dogs through the years.

...and here is Storm (When The Levee Breaks CD RE), who is absolutely my little everything:

happydorkgirl

08 Oct 2011, 12:13 am

...and because I can:

Please post pics of your special animals.

ComplexRobot
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

08 Oct 2011, 12:22 am

Well, I've always felt I could understand animals really well.
Both dogs and cats are pretty easy to get along with.
It's pretty simple. You just give them what they want, and they're happy.
I find it funny how people don't understand it, since it's so simple.

zen_mistress
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2011, 12:31 am

I can totally relate, I am both a cat and dog person. I also like many other animals and have been fortunate enough to spend a lot of time with sheep, goats, and even do some chicken and horse-sitting... : )

Taking a break.

MagicMeerkat
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2011, 12:34 am

Yes, but not dogs. They remind me of NT's too much. Give me my lizards and meerkats. I want to have a pet tiger or jaguar someday. People say it would kill me or attack me, but after what I've been through with people, I'd trust a wild animal anyday before I ever trusted another person again. I'm not crazy about domestic animals.

Madao
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

08 Oct 2011, 1:26 am