Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Metanoia
Butterfly
Butterfly

16 Oct 2011, 11:33 pm

Good evening,

I am new to Wrong Planet but not to AS. I was diagnosed years ago, and have been through CBT (cognative-behavorial therapy), as well as mentoring and years of practice. The downside is that I am still just learning to read NTs, and there are some things I will never be able to do. I accept that.

The upside is that I have been successful enough in learning techniques that I have done well in my vocation, have been married for many years with kids. I don't have many close friends, but I do get invited to Starbucks by co-workers and they share their lives and thoughts with me, confiding in me because I will not judge them. My managment likes and trusts me, seeks my advice, and I do my best to give them the information they need to make the best decisions they can.

Here is what I have learned over the many years, successes and failures. Trust me there have failed numerous times in life:

People are people. NTs are not illogical, stupid, or confused. The difference is that they fire thoughts through different parts of the brain and emotions leak heavily into their thought process. They negotiate what is really happening with what they feel about it. We try to filter what they are saying without understanding that there are overriding patterns we are not aware of. At the same time there are patterns present and patience and attentiveness will reveal them to us.

Sincerity, honesty, respectfulness and compassion get you far in this world. I cannot feel empathy, but I do care about people and I make sure that they know that I care. They respond by wanting me around, asking for my advice, and genuinely caring about my life. I appreciate that.