Is it easy for professional to doagnose right..

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

themonkey
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

01 Oct 2006, 5:08 am

between adhd and aspergers?

Im not sure what I have but Im damn scared if I get wrong dignosis :?

Emettman
Veteran
Veteran

01 Oct 2006, 6:59 am

Two thoughts...

Is a diagnosis for ever? If it isn't, then it's not a disaster to consider it as operating "for now" as a basis for consideration, treatment and action.
Later events might show it to be less than perfectly accurate ("Wrong" might reflect binary thinking, or be fair comment!) and a better diagnosis might occur.

(I wasn't diagnosed with AS until I was 48, but the psychological and medical treatment I had for depression prior to that wasn't useless, just somewhat mis-directed and not as effective as it could have been)

Would one of the markers of difference between ADHD and AS be behaviour outside of class?
I'm not an expert, but while an AS person might be likely to spend long periods involved with a special interest or single activity (to the point of obsessive repetition in some cases), would an ADHD individual be seen to have more trouble maintaining interest in any one thing, even of their own choosing?

(there's also the experimental route. While there are generally recognised medications that help with ADHD, AS *itself*is not widely regarded as needing or benefitting from medication.
If it's an unsure diagnosis, an observed and assessed course of ADHD medication might confirm a dignosis or throw it into doubt, with no great harm done, and possible benefit)

I would welcome these opinions being supported or challenged by others with more knowledge in this field.

Aeturnus
Veteran
Veteran

01 Oct 2006, 12:05 pm