Anyone think that their hearing is more acute with AS?

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

athacliath72
Butterfly
Butterfly

14 Dec 2011, 7:08 pm

I'm no expert on the condition and don't feel entirely comfortable typing this but I have thought back to a couple of instances of meltdown where I've had a go at people whom I've perceived as having said things about me, I know that the only perception that you have is your own, but I'm 100% adamant that in both instances that paranoia wasn't playing a role.

The reactions of the people involved on both occasions seem to indicate disbelief that they could have been overheard from the distance they were away from me, of course coupled to the fact that most folk (ourselves included) would deny everything to a) avoid a confrontation and b) it doesn't look cool to be found out behaving like a jerk

Any thoughts on hearing and AS?

lilbuddah
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

14 Dec 2011, 7:17 pm

Not only hearing! Hypersensitive senses are a symptom of AS and a rather beneficial one at that. I'm always hearing or smelling something my friends don't when we're walking around, at first they thought I was crazy (I guess I am a little, especially when I start sniffing around for no real reason) but now I'm the high authority on all things olfactory and audible. However, I can't stand bright street lights, loud, sudden noises make me freeze up and stare and I can't stick around strong smells like perfume or rubbish for a long time so it's really sort of a mixed blessing.

btbnnyr
Veteran
Veteran

14 Dec 2011, 7:20 pm

I have very acute hearing. I can hear people breathing, swallowing, sniffling, talking from downstairs in my house with the door of my opposite-side upstairs room closed. It is entirely possible for you to hear people's conversations from far away.

lilbuddah
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

14 Dec 2011, 7:26 pm