A critical care nurse and an aspie?...oh, and hi!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

thegatekeeper
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

29 Dec 2011, 6:30 am

This is something I wrote earlier this morning... (I've been a nurse on a cardiac intensive care step-down unit for 1 year, which will make the rant below make more sense)

***12/29/11

It is 01:57 and I feel like I'm on the verge of breaking down. However, it appears that I'm

starting to climb the mountain, uncertain step by step, rather than allowing myself to tumble down the rock face.

I am compelled by a strong desire to alter my physical appearance in such a way as to camoflage myself in the corporate

spaceship, but just as easily re-adorn myself and shed layers along with the pretension I distastefully wear. I need to

find ways to help me leave work where it belongs... leave the verbal abuse, the sexual harrassment, the backstabbing, the

bodily fluids and the sometimes grotesque practices employed in "saving lives" where they belong... otherwise, I fear for

my capacity to *genuinely* be compassionate towards other human beings now and in the future.

I disclose little to others, when in fact, I am a tattooed and pierced anarcho-existentialist. Does the little piece of

metal in my face make me a different person than yesterday?...does it, punk?! To be fair, maybe it does...for I feel a

bit stronger constitutionally...proactively walking away from the haunting images and experiences I deal with 38 hours a

week.

I simultaneously desire running into and away from people on the street when I am exposed for what I truly am...the

volcanic underground in myself brought to light.

---------------------

I do not want to label or self diagnose myself, but reading a story in the NY Times about people with Asperger's syndrome really hit home

in a way... my tendencies towards hermitage because interacting socially is draining...the way it is very difficult for