Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Brony2011
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

29 Jan 2012, 10:48 pm

I have a Bachelor's in English and experience in journalism, and yet, I can't seem to get a job. I don't qualify to teach. Everyone tells me to do that, but I can't. The one and only "real job" in which I had an actual salary, I couldn't hold it down because of the combination of physical labor with social exposure and other stressors, which I wasn't expecting to be a problem for me, but it turned out to be more than I could handle, and I had at panic attack at work.

Since then, I still haven't been able to find a job. Before, I was applying to anything and everything I could... custodian, dish washer, night guard, etc. But I didn't even get any of those jobs. But since my first work experience, I've been more selective in where I'm applying myself. I keep feeling like there must be something I'm doing wrong or not doing because other people seem capable of finding work just fine, and I haven't gotten past an interview more than once if even that far.

It might just be this economy combined with where I live. I don't know.

I'm going to apply to be a paper boy tomorrow, and I have an appointment with career services at my alma mater on Tuesday. That's something at least, and hopefully a start, but I felt the need to vent.

sgrannel
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2012, 11:39 pm

Most of what one goes to college for is mostly good for teaching. I don't know what else you could do with an English major besides teaching, or journalism which is quickly becoming a non-job.

Even engineering and the "hard sciences", including research degrees like the Ph.D. are basically a training exercise for doing something else that's profitable. One is badly advised to major in something that can't be used in at least one other job besides teaching.