Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

ToShinTim
Raven
Raven

25 Feb 2012, 8:01 pm

I'm new to this kind of thing, so take it easy on me if I mess up.

My name is Tim. I am 19 years old, attending the local community college, where classes that everybody has to take are much cheaper. Eventually, I plan on transferring to Purdue University to major in Chemical Engineering.

I was first diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome when I was in the sixth grade, at which point I neither cared nor knew what it meant. As with all people with this psychological condition, I was (and still am, for that matter) introverted and was slow to come out of my "hole". Because of that, I was bullied beyond belief, and had almost no friends, though there were a couple. My middle school years were the hardest for me. Upon entering high school, I was immediately popular, solely for being "that weird kid". Though I had some idea of what Asperger's Syndrome was, I was still not sure about the specifics. I knew why people looked at me funny, why they thought it might be fun to poke fun at me, and why nobody talked to me, but I didn't know what I could do to help the matter, so to speak. While filling out my schedule for my next year in high school, I became aware of a class with the following name: PLTW: IED. I had at last found my escape. This class turned out to me perfect for me. It consisted of AutoCAD software, critical thinking, and engineering concepts in general. Through this class, I was able to pour my pent-up energy into the design software and the corresponding curriculum, becoming less of a dorky kid with glasses, and more of a computer geek, which I was okay with.