Have you ever met any arrogant aspies?

Page 1 of 3 [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Uprising
Veteran
Veteran

21 Mar 2012, 12:33 pm

I used to work as a volunteer in a special school for a few weeks where there was one class that consisted out of autistic/aspie children only, I got put off by one of them acting like such a pain in the ass while I had to teach him that it made me stop liking the job, he was totally unhandleable I had to call the regular teacher with me to help me get out of this situation. The other children were all shy and nice-ish but I got the feeling jobs like these are really not meant for me in any way at all, socializing was never my fetish.

Now this is what concerns kids, but has anyone ever dealt with arrogant aspie adults?

MjrMajorMajor
Veteran
Veteran

21 Mar 2012, 12:53 pm

I knew someone who could be extremely arrogant, but we got on okay for the most part. He was off the charts intelligent, successfully ran his business concerns, and was extremely private. Sometimes he was arrogant to cover his insecurity, and sometimes because he was just too damn smart, and financially successful.

Krychek
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

21 Mar 2012, 12:55 pm

Yeah, I think I have experienced what you are talking about (with aspie adults)..

There's a guy that sometimes comes to an aspie meetup I'm part of. He is completely insufferable. He is one of those kind that not only takes everything way too literally, and corrects everything you say, but actually gets angry about it. You can't hold a one minute conversation with him without him getting pissed off/snapping at you(while correcting you)..
Because he's like this, and he is a really big guy, we simply call him "The Hulk".

MrXxx
Veteran
Veteran

21 Mar 2012, 12:59 pm

Quote:
"It's not arrogance if you really are better than everyone else."

:roll: Don't have to look far.