I'm 15 and need to get built for sports...

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

muslimmetalhead
Veteran
Veteran

26 Mar 2012, 4:54 pm

I know nothing about fitness except for carbs before, protein after.

I can do 3 sets of 30, 10 reps on a good day.

Bench maybe 80.

I am a complete noob so even the most basic stuff helps.

I work out alone at a gym btw.

I couldn't care less what people think.

Alexender
Veteran
Veteran

26 Mar 2012, 5:06 pm

Sports? Do you have a certain one in mind (such as football, basketball, soccer, etc)? Or are you more concerned with appearance? I think if you mostly care about how you look then pecs and shoulders are more important to work out.

1000Knives
Veteran
Veteran

26 Mar 2012, 7:09 pm

Probably a good resource to start with would be Mark Rippetoe's "Starting Strength" go look it up.

Basically, you wanna do powerlifting and Olympic weightlifting movements and related exercise. For sports, obviously you need to run fast, and squats are going to help you run faster. For squats, work mostly on getting really good depth, not just piling on weight and just doing it to parallel, though piling on weight might make you get bigger faster, but you want a full range of motion. Deadlifts are also tremendously great exercises, too. Olympic lifts are great, too. Snatch and clean and jerk.

Lately, I've kinda narrowed down for my purposes, I need to do a lot more snatching, I love snatching, as it develops great explosive power, and works your back and core muscles great. That, and instead of the heavy back squats I normally do to parallel, I instead need to work on doing overhead squats to the ground, as again, those are good balance and range of motion, and imo they're easier to recover from if done right, compared to like, deadlifts and heavy back squats.