Poll: Hair color, darker, lighter, same?

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

If you are autistic, comparared to your siblings is your hair:
Poll ended at 10 Apr 2012, 6:27 pm
lighter 29%  29%  [ 12 ]
darker 43%  43%  [ 18 ]
same 29%  29%  [ 12 ]
Total votes : 42

greenbug
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

31 Mar 2012, 6:27 pm

Hi all. I've seen discussion about red hair, but not hair color compared to siblings. I don't believe there is a genetic linkage. I'm a researcher who actually studies neurite pruning and clearance, not autism, but autism is a topic dear to my heart. I hope you don't mind me on your group, I don't have autism but suffer from severe treatment-resistant depression and suspect Crohn's disease.

Melanin production is regulated, in part, by serotonin via 5-HT2a receptor, which is also involved in neurite growth. Autistics are thought to have higher serotonin in blood but lower in brain (at least early in life) and some researchers suspect this leads to oversensitive 5-HT2a receptors. I first became interested in this question when my mother remarked, "your hair is darker! Did you dye it?" I hadn't seen her in several months and had stopped taking a drug called lamotrigine, which lowers serotonin in blood.

IdahoRose
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2012, 7:00 pm

Hi greenbug. Welcome to this site. :)

Myself and two out of my three siblings (one sister and my brother) are blonde. My hair is much darker than my brother's, but I am unsure of how my hair compares to my sister's since she has been dyeing her hair black for many years. My hair has been getting darker over the years, to the point where my sister once asked me if I dyed it after she hadn't seen me for awhile. My hair looks almost brown in photographs even though in person you can definitely see gold in it. The gold streaks become especially noticeable during summer months when the sun is out more often.