Any aspies here run their own business?

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Jonny
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

01 Apr 2012, 4:59 am

I was lucky enough to get a job when I graduated but have been stuck there ever since. Too afraid to leave and find a new job (not that I need to as its fairly well paid but not exactly what I want to be doing for the rest of my life).

So I fancy a change. I have a few business ideas which I'm interested to develop. My biggest fear is the whole people skills side of it, for example, networking, sales pitches etc.

Are there any entrepreneurs here who can share their experiences? How do you overcome the disadvantages of having AS out in the business world?

kirayng
Veteran
Veteran

01 Apr 2012, 8:54 am

I'm a restauranteur of sorts, a consultant at least and it's really actually fine being Aspie and networking because you talk about your interests (mine is cooking and chefs will talk food all day long) and the relationships are superficial. Our good memory for names, places, facts, etc. will "connect" us to our network because you can go up to Bob and go how are Jill and Danny (his kids, you remembered their names) and he's delighted you asked about his kids (you have picked up on the "ask about family" to business contacts as a "getting closer" move that really doesn't go anywhere [anyone else analyze the mess out of this stuff like I do!? :roll: ]) but NTs like this kind of chit-chat.... yadda yadda blah blah... you get the idea?

b9
Veteran
Veteran

01 Apr 2012, 10:27 am

Jonny wrote:
I was lucky enough to get a job when I graduated but have been stuck there ever since. Too afraid to leave and find a new job (not that I need to as its fairly well paid but not exactly what I want to be doing for the rest of my life).

So I fancy a change. I have a few business ideas which I'm interested to develop. My biggest fear is the whole people skills side of it, for example, networking, sales pitches etc.