Any of you people work in health care?

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

BobinPgh
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

06 Apr 2012, 6:49 pm

I am Bob and I work as a medical transcriptionist which I type medical records. I like the job but only some - of the offices when I worked in hospitals were noisy, stressful hellholes (oh, I have been told that if I was not on the spectrum, I would not have called that place a "hellhole"). Its a bit better working from my own apartment now, when I worked from my mother's house it was awful (she knows I have a problem, but does she turn down the too-loud TV? NO. She just rolls her eyes). I have also worked as a building maintaince worker, which I do when I "burn out" of transcription about every 2-3 years.

Anyway, does anyone here work as a health care worker, like a nurse? My mother being a nurse thought I should have a degree in nursing but could I handle the chaos? I have also find it hard to deal with health care places even when I am the patient because everybody plays a noisy radio or TV. This week I had a colonoscopy and there was a radio blaring a Phil Collins song in the procedure room! Thank goodness I was soon put under.

Should people on the spectrum even consider health care careers? Discuss.

cathylynn
Veteran
Veteran

06 Apr 2012, 8:45 pm

i was an MD. my lack of social skills eventually got me in trouble with other docs who saw to it i couldn't practice any more. i'd say any profession requiring a lot of contact with people is iffy for those of us on the spectrum.

CheeseDeprived
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

06 Apr 2012, 10:05 pm