Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Hanibal94
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

23 Apr 2012, 4:01 am

I'm in my last year of high school now, and I've got mixed feelings about leaving.
My parents both say college was much better than high school for them, but I'm still a little anxious about it because it's such a huge change.
It does help that I have a general plan (do a gap year so I can take more time to figure out what to study), and that I've been able to overcome a lot of my bad Aspie traits,
so it's now easier for me to socialize and get along with people my age, although I'm certainly not NT and never will be.

So here's my question to those of you who have gone through high school and college. Which one did you like better, and why?

LookingLost
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2012, 6:14 am

I'm not sure what country you're in, so this might not be helpful. I'm in Scotland and I much preferred college to high school. In college I wasn't bullied, which I guessed was because people were there more through choice than obligation. The other students really seemed to want to learn. One bad point (not sure if this will apply to you) was noise, as there seem to be so many more people at college than school- I had to drop out because of anxiety about this, but still enjoyed college because you are treated more like an adult and given responsibility for your own learning. Also, no uniform! And my college had a Starbucks counter, if you like coffee. Hope this helps a bit and that you are not too anxious by the time you start. :cat:

cathylynn
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2012, 9:08 am

college and especially grad school was better as more people shared the common interest of the major. it made natural starting places for friendship through study groups.

Cubits
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Apr 2012, 9:09 am