Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Stuffedwithempty
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

25 Apr 2012, 10:06 am

I've had difficulty with this part. Usually when I see read biographies of people with Aspergers achieving something good in their life, such as a good job or even designing their own room to match their mood, I never feel inspired. On the contrary, it makes me feel even more out of place and strangely sad to find people with Aspergers managing tasks even I would find difficult. :bounce:

So, I'd like to know, how do you manage to feel motivated or inspired to do something? :scratch:

Grebels
Veteran
Veteran

25 Apr 2012, 10:54 am

Without knowing you it is only possible to give an answer in general terms or relate our own experince. I can get inspired an just wonder where it all comes from. I can write a story and see the character's body language in my mind's eye. What I am not good at is doing two creative activities at the same time. If I want to paint then I have to lay the writing to one side completely.

The first and obvious thing to do is know the things you are naturally good at. I was not allowed to go to an art school and didn't care to think of myself that way until much later on in life. The next obvious thing is to find out what you really want to do with your life. It is not clear to me if you tend to be obsessive over one thing. It is said to be and Asperger's trait. We are very often rightly accused of being lost in our own world. This can be turned to good use if we can control those thoughts.

ToughDiamond
Veteran
Veteran

25 Apr 2012, 10:59 am

Cocaine?