Full-time permanent music teacher...my success story!

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

bombergal
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

04 Jun 2012, 10:42 am

I graduated from university in 2007 with my Early Years after degree. That fall I had a rural job teaching in four small towns as a term position and had so much trouble with classroom management and being consistent so I wasn't hired back the following year. I was so devasted but then moved to a city and was a substitute teacher plus taught piano lessons at a well-known music school. However, I wasn't hired back at that music school but I didn't tell anyone of my Asperger's (don't know who to tell about that). The next job in 2009 was a part-time term at one school that I got at the last minute but wow did myself and admin not get along and it was always tense (needless to say, wasn't hired back because they were pretty mean and petty). Then I had to move to a small city to teach music at a school in 2010 and have been there ever since. I worked there full-time this year on a term because I had to learn how to teach in French! I have since done that and have been hired at that school full-time permanent starting next year!

I think the big difference between being hired perm vs. not was my disclosure in 2010 to admin that I have asperger's. It was not an easy thing to do but it gave my employers a lot of understanding of my quirks. Should I tell the entire staff that I have it next year? I have been excluded from some social events and don't have a lot of support from several staff members.

jhighl
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

04 Jun 2012, 12:28 pm

Nice good going.

Vomelche
Veteran
Veteran

04 Jun 2012, 1:53 pm

I wouldnt tell anyone unless they ask. People often dont react well to different. Grats on the job though, im sure u can find a way to fit in more less .

AardvarkGoodSwimmer
Veteran
Veteran

04 Jun 2012, 2:36 pm

bombergal wrote: